Blessings for the Bare Necessities of Life

A few weeks have passed since my last blog, so I thought I would share some of the blessings in our lives.

Doug, Debbie, Mom, Dad, Diana, Dan

Doug, Debbie, Mom, Dad, Diana, Dan

My wonderful parents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary on the 10th of August. All of my siblings were going to come in for it, I am the oldest of four. This would be the first time in two years that we would all be together. The last time was for my grandma’s funeral.

Given our financial situation I knew that I was not going to be able to make it back for their anniversary.  Needless to say my family was very sad, but they understood why.  Then, just days before the celebration I received a call from very special friends and supporters who had found out I wasn’t able to go home. They called to say they were sending money to get me home! I cried my eyes out! I was able to take MacKenzie and Sydney with me and we were able to surprise my parents and family and spend three days together back in Iowa with my family!  My family was so excited to see us pull up! It was so wonderful to see their faces. It was the first “vacation” I have been on since 2007.

I have missed my family so much, especially my baby (42) brother Doug! As you may recall Doug was diagnosed with brain cancer on Jan 1.  I have hurt so many times not being able to be there for him and with him.  All I and my oldest brother have been able to do is SKYPE with him over the past eight months because we both live so far away.

Thank You!It felt fantastic to hug and kiss him, he is the baby!  We all just cried and thanked God for all the healing and miracles He has done in Doug and Dara’s lives!  I was able to pray over him and share with him God’s promises of healing and we copied a few Jason Upton CD’s for him to listen to…he loves them.

THANK YOU to this loving family for making my weekend home with my family happen!  It meant the world to all of us!

When the girls and I headed back home to Colorado, Sydney said she was thirsty for some “Colorado water.”  When we arrived home another amazing lady had come over foodand filled my cupboards to overflowing with groceries! PRAISE GOD! It is crazy wonderful to wake up everyday and have food to choose from. It does something inside this mommy’s heart to know my cupboards and freezer are full! Food just changes the atmosphere of your heart and home.

Also a few of our regular supporter sent extra this month and all of our bills from last month were able to get paid. Praise GOD! I love watching how we pray about our needs and people hear as God speaks to them and miracles happen! That is when you truly know how amazing and big the Body of Christ is!

Sydney started 5th grade last week. I had 25 dollars left from the trip, just enough to get her the school supplies she needed on that Monday. PTL!   MacKenzie starts high school (freshman) today! Josh will leave for his freshman year at the University of Northern Colorado this Thursday. Neither one of them have any school supplies yet…but then Joshagain we have a few days to see how God provides.

The hardest thing as a parent is not being able to provide “on our own” the basic needs of our kids right now. I hate the feeling of them wanting a pair of jeans or socks and not being able to do anything about it. The great thing is my kids have learned how to lean on God and pray. They have been given small jobs during the summer from neighbors and are buying the school shoes they need with babysitting money and Sydney watched a dog next door and was able to buy three new shirts for school.

We know somehow God will provide for our rent that is due in two weeks (we are short $1000) and the bills after that. We are still praying the Lord raises up 50 supporters who can give $100 a month to our mission.  As of this morning, no one has responded to my last blog to become monthly supporters.  We did hear from one young family who gave a one time gift. Thank you!

PLEASE keep praying and we will all watch how God provides!

Di and DebThank you to every one of you who stand beside us in prayer and support on this long journey! You are loved from here in Colorado and prayed for daily! We pray the Lord bless you abundantly for your continued support.

Diana

Support us through Pay Pal by using our address: Welchert007@ att.net or at pastor.michael.welchert@gmail.com or sending a check to 7354 S Catawba Way Aurora, CO 80016.

Leave a comment